Please.

I cannot vote in this election because I’m not old enough, And that would be fine, except for the fact that I was supposed to be. This election was supposed to be held in 2020 – I would have been 19 years old and old enough to vote; old enough to have a say in my country’s future.

But I don’t.

I’ve come to terms with it though, because it can’t be changed. The only thing I can’t come to terms with is the prospect of a Conservative victory tomorrow night. The thought genuinely terrifies me – I’ve been close to spontaneously bursting into tears with increasing frequency over the last week. And no. This isn’t about being a “special snowflake” (honestly a term I despise but that’s beside the point) who throws a tantrum at the prospect of not getting their way. This is genuine dread.

I understand however, that I can’t just make a plea for you to vote Labour without giving you any reasons to. So here goes, in the most concise but informative manner that I can manage at this hour in this state.

  • Scrapping tuition fees – I have to admit that this is the most selfish reason on this list; and I usually try to make a point of not including my own interests in my political decisions, particularly if that inclusion will not benefit the majority of others or will actually detriment others lives. But I don’t believe that this policy will do either of those. Think about it this way: I live in a well to-do area, in a fair-sized house, and although certain factors have caused money problems for my parents at various points, I am terrified of the frankly ridiculous amount of money I, and others, will have to pay in order to get what is now necessary education for a well-paid job. Investing in accessibility to university level education for every young person is an investment in the future of the country and the future wellbeing of our people. Enough said.
  • The Conservatives essentially plan to give 70 billion in tax cuts to the rich. I have absolutely no idea how you could condone this in any possible way.
  • Theresa May genuinely said this morning that she would be prepared to “rip up human rights” laws which impede her anti-terrorism efforts. Let me make this clear, of course I am anti-terrorism – but the suggestion to “rip up” human rights laws is dangerous. Especially now that we are no longer bound by the Human Rights Act of the EU.
  • Labour plans to invest more in the NHS and mental health services, while the Conservatives will continue their history of trying to privatise and sell off the NHS. Our NHS is essential and if you don’t understand that then please look at the number of people treated every single day for free. Or look at the USA, where, prior to Obamacare, Americans had to pay thousands and thousands in order to have basic health services.
  • Theresa May has a history of voting against legislation which promotes LGBT+ rights. Not only did she promote and vote in favour of raising the age of consent for gay people, but she also voted against the right to adopt for gay people. That is absolutely disgusting.
  • Labour plans to increase the police force in order to ensure further terrorist attacks are prevented, while the Conservative government has been cutting police funding for years (which by the way was the decision of former Home Secretary and current Prime Minister Theresa May)
  • Theresa May wishes to foster a “special relationship” with the world’s most dangerous leader – Donald Trump – a racist, sexist, homophobic, and generally bigoted potential rapist. Not only that but she refused to sign the letter condemning Trump’s withdrawal from the Paris Climate Accords – something which could affect our very ecosystem and speed up the fatal process of global warming (although he denies that it actually exists of course)
  • Conservatives plan to reduce per-student spending in state schools.
  • The Conservatives are proposing the “dementia tax” (yes, I know this term is controversial but I honestly believe it to be an apt description) This would mean that anyone requiring care who has over £100,000 in assets (including their homes) would have to sell their assets in order to fund their care. Let me ask you: considering the rate of housing inflation, how many people in this country own a house, or even a flat, under the value of £100,000? Not many. This is absolutely disgusting.

There are so many more reasons that I could list, but these are the ones which were making their way around my head when I set out to write this post.

So please, I beg you, if, unlike myself, you have the right to vote tomorrow: Vote for the many, not for the few. Vote Labour.

Leave a Reply

